Not food!

So I realise my posts are kinda sterile in that I don’t give much opinion but I figured I could have some courage in the form of digital text.  I’m not posting as much in terms of recipes as I don’t have as much time and light as I did – but still love trying new things.  I shall be making a non food section.   ‘Talk’.  I found out that what I expected of my parents….the usual fish ‘n’ chip/ steak pie ensemble –  they took a gamble, the atypical Scots, on Arabic soil and I thought the shit would fly.  The opposite happened.  They came back loving it, they came back wanting more.  More culture, more this, more that.  It’s amazing.  It’s inspiring. The more they went back, and it was multiple the times –  (they’ve been about 4 times) I had more respect for them.  I had this opinion about them that I feel they changed by  doing something they never said they would do and I’m really proud and happy they did.  They tried this food, they tried that food.  May not be a big thing for most but for them……HUGE.  Never in a million years thought my mother would say, “I loved the Thai food”.  Some context there is that my parents would never have even tried anything other than the typical Brit fair.  So happy they tried something new and liked it!  I can now groom them to enjoy something hot!

Tom yum?  No that’ll blow their minds.

Here’s to trying something new!

Slainte mhath

Leave a comment